PDA

View Full Version : Excel help.....For dummies....


Workin' 4 Toys
12-08-2006, 03:49 PM
Excel questions:


#1
I have a spreadsheet that is going to be several hundred rows down. And say 50 columns wide. I need to figure out how to maintain the "names" at the tops of the columns, and sides of the rows while scrolling.

M-Funf
12-08-2006, 03:52 PM
hit the "window" menu and use the "split" command. You can move the split up to where you want, then move the vertical split to the edge and it will go away.

ski_king
12-08-2006, 03:53 PM
Highlight first line you do not want to freeze
Go to Window, Freeze Pane (or something like that)

mpm32
12-08-2006, 03:54 PM
What you need to do is click on the cell where you want the split to occur. For example if you have column names in row 1 and row names in column A you would select cell B2. On the top under window select freeze panes. This will do what you're looking for.

Sodar
12-08-2006, 03:56 PM
Really weird, I have been trying to figure this out for the last few minutes!

I have no problem freezing the top horizontal row,
but can not freeze the left side column for when I scroll over...

hleepert
12-08-2006, 04:00 PM
mpm32 has it right.

jimmer2880
12-08-2006, 07:27 PM
mpm32 has it right.

Ditto.

But - better yet, get 2 monitors & spread it across both :D

Workin' 4 Toys
12-08-2006, 08:07 PM
What you need to do is click on the cell where you want the split to occur. For example if you have column names in row 1 and row names in column A you would select cell B2. On the top under window select freeze panes. This will do what you're looking for.

http://users.pandora.be/eforum/emoticons4u/fam/fam24.gif
Thanks, I knew I could count on you guys.!!!!
http://users.pandora.be/eforum/emoticons4u/fam/fam24.gif





I have asked several people about this with no luck, even people that "claim" to know excel like the back of their hands.....
Thanks again.

Workin' 4 Toys
12-08-2006, 08:08 PM
Ditto.

But - better yet, get 2 monitors & spread it across both :D

I have 4, but not for this....:(

Workin' 4 Toys
12-08-2006, 08:14 PM
Question #2-

I need to add a graph. A rolling monthly average, and a rolling annual average.
Is there an ideal graph/chart for this, and can I get it to "freeze"?

jimmer2880
12-08-2006, 09:00 PM
I have 4, but not for this....:(

At work, we build systems with mucho graphical power. Wish I could afford one for home :shocked:

Leroy
12-08-2006, 10:41 PM
Sum up and avg the data you want. THen select those rows/columns with data and any headings and then menus item Insert-Graph. There are many graphs to chose from from probably a bar/column graph would work.

Question #2-

I need to add a graph. A rolling monthly average, and a rolling annual average.
Is there an ideal graph/chart for this, and can I get it to "freeze"?