PDA

View Full Version : Question for you home brewers

suedv
12-04-2006, 10:03 PM
I have celiac disease which means I get sick if I eat or drink something with gluten in it. Gluten is in wheat, rye, and barley (some people also say oats, but my doctor lets me have them).

Beer has malt,which is made from barley, so I don't drink beer. Do any of you make any kind of beer that doesn't have malt? If so is it any good?

Just wondering.

east tx skier
12-04-2006, 10:35 PM
I'm no expert homebrewer, but I think it all has barley or wheat in it. But I'll look to be sure.

But isn't Budweiser made of malted rice? I know you said "beer," but I didn't want to be to hypertechnical. :)

JimN
12-04-2006, 11:51 PM
Lakefront Brewery makes a gluten-free beer and I have heard that people who have drunk it but don't have a problem with gluten, like it whether they know or not. IIRC, Anheuser-Busch is making their own, too. You might want to google for gluten-free beer recipes.

Farmer Ted
12-05-2006, 12:02 AM
There are a few Amercian beers listed here, or you could use it as an excuse to travel to Europe....

http://www.glutenfreebeerfestival.com/available/available.html

http://www.clanthompson.com/res_contacts_shop.php3

JimN
12-05-2006, 12:11 AM
Lakefront's New Grist is the one I was referring to. If you make it to Milwaukee, they have a nice tour at their brewery. Also, a pretty nice little restaurant on site. While you're at it, you might want to come here in summer for Summerfest (www.summerfest.com).

edwinfuqua
12-05-2006, 04:34 AM
I have celiac disease which means I get sick if I eat or drink something with gluten in it. Gluten is in wheat, rye, and barley (some people also say oats, but my doctor lets me have them).

Beer has malt,which is made from barley, so I don't drink beer. Do any of you make any kind of beer that doesn't have malt? If so is it any good?

Just wondering.