PDA

View Full Version : 1st time MC owner

mash
11-23-2006, 08:03 AM
I bought a used 1993 prostar a few months ago, living here in Indiana (AKA - boating hell), I've only had a few chances to get it out on the water. I have been impressed with the handling and overall quality compared to the I/O's Ive owned in the past.

I've owned several boats over the years, but never an inboard, so there are a few things I need to learn. This boat is a few years old and has a few problems I need to take care of. I'm new to TT, been reading some of the posts and find them very helpful.

Thanks everyone!

peason
11-23-2006, 08:28 AM
Feel free to ask any questions - there is a wealth of knowledge on this board. Congrats on the MC!

sanjuan23
11-23-2006, 08:46 AM
Congratulations and Welcome. Mastercrafts do not have problems as they get older they mearly have some character issues. Welcome aboard!

mrG
11-23-2006, 09:00 AM
Welcome. What issues are you having with your new boat?

TMCNo1
11-23-2006, 09:10 AM
Welcome and ask away, you will have more answers than you can deal with!

mash
11-23-2006, 09:43 AM
I love the boat, the hull is in great shape, has 800 hours - but the motor and trans seem sound. . Most of my problems are due to age and previous owners. I knew the swim platform needed work when I bought the boat. I did not realize that someone had put light brown latex stain on it. I've been workin gthe last week or so to correct this. It's in pieces on my workbench.

It was glued as well as screwed together. Lots of mildew between the pieces. I'm considering laying on a coat or two of teak oil before assembly and skipping the glue, just using screws. Any advice?