PDA

View Full Version : What is this slight "bump" after prop engagement?

jaspav
11-16-2006, 10:10 AM
Hi, I have a 2001 Mastercraft X-10. When cold & still slightly warm, up until about 20 minutes of running, when I put it in gear (engagement is normal) and start adding throttle, there is a slight "bump" like it wasn't completely in gear. Or like there is some kind of slack in the drive line. After it is completely warmed up, it stops doing this. If you go from pulling someone and just slow down to idle, then throttle back up again, it doesn't happen again (even when cold) It has been doing this for about 2 years now (since I purchased the boat). I did not notice it when I purchased it. Any idea what this could be? Or how to fix it? There are no other symptoms along with this "bump" or slight clunk. My fear is that if someone else is pulling me, that they may put it in gear and give it full throttle, and what ever is bumping breaks.

Thank you

sanjuan23
11-16-2006, 10:14 AM
Transmission slow to get to temp????

BrianM
11-16-2006, 11:27 AM
Have you checked the transmission fluid lately? Sounds like you may be a little low on fluid or maybe a little dirty. I would change the fluid and then double check that the level is correct. I bet that solves the problem.

jaspav
11-16-2006, 06:34 PM
I have checked the level and it was fine, but have not changed it lately.

CoFooter
11-20-2006, 12:48 PM
Check that your prop is in proper position on the shaft. Sometimes when installing the prop the spline is too low on the shaft and the prop does not seat completely on the taper. I thought I had a tranny problem for a while before I checked this. Reseated it and no more clunk issue. If thats OK check/change the tranny fluid. If it is old, or low, you will have the same problem.

Archimedes
11-20-2006, 12:55 PM