PDA

View Full Version : SilentMaster alternative?

mrG
11-06-2006, 10:25 AM
I have a SilentMaster on my 92 190 and have been thinking about replaceing it with an independant in-line silencer/glass pak type set-up.

By not having a SilentMaster system would improve access to the drive train for maintenance etc but I was wondering about the change in exhaust noise, if any.

The SilentMaster is a fairly quiet system. Do the in-line units change the exhaust noise signature dramaticly?

bigmac
11-06-2006, 10:43 AM
I have a SilentMaster on my 92 190 and have been thinking about replaceing it with an independant in-line silencer/glass pak type set-up.

By not having a SilentMaster system would improve access to the drive train for maintenance etc but I was wondering about the change in exhaust noise, if any.

The SilentMaster is a fairly quiet system. Do the in-line units change the exhaust noise signature dramaticly?

IIRC, MYMC mentioned that the inline baffled exhaust (no silencer) that MasterCraft is now using on all their boat since the '07 model-year is "within 3 db" of the previous system, not noticably louder, but with a nicer tone. That system is "Part # 253030 MSRP $165.50 (each) MYMC price $130. You'll remove the fiberglass mufflers and extend the hoses to the transom. Not a direct bolt in but pretty easy."

That price that MYMC mentions is actually a little cheaper than what you can buy those other inline mufflers for, and it includes the tips. I'm not sure I can wait for my silencer to fail.

Chief
11-06-2006, 11:23 AM
Are the new exhaust holes in the 07 transom 4" instead of 3" for 06 and below?

bigmac
11-06-2006, 11:37 AM
Are the new exhaust holes in the 07 transom 4" instead of 3" for 06 and below?

It's my impression that, yes, you have to enlarge the hole in the transom for the new tips. I want to emphasize that I'm not sure about this, though.

TMCNo1
11-06-2006, 01:15 PM