PDA

View Full Version : Sea Doo winterizing

Bruce
11-04-2006, 10:36 AM
My Daughter and son-inlaw bought a couple of Sea Doos this summer. This will be their first winter season with them. They were not new and so do not have owner manuals. What do they need to do as for as winterizing? I have zero experience.
Just realized I posted in wrong place. My Bad

6ballsisall
11-04-2006, 10:39 AM
Take them out to the deepest spot of the lake, pull the drain plug, tie 500# anchor to each of them. That'll take care of the water gnats! :D

j/k.......:D it's been a while since I winterized one of those. I am sure someone will have some actual advice for you.

Sodar
11-04-2006, 11:24 AM
Take them out to the deepest spot of the lake, pull the drain plug, tie 500# anchor to each of them. That'll take care of the water gnats! :D

j/k.......:D it's been a while since I winterized one of those. I am sure someone will have some actual advice for you.

I would have to say that I second Jeff's suggestion, but I did have a pair of jet ski's through high school... embarrassingly enough! Here is a little info I used when I had mine

"To properly winterize your personal watercraft, you need to start with washing the inside of the hull with degreaser and the outside with auto wash soap. Vacuum all remaining water from storage compartments and hull. Remove the drive shaft cover to access the grease fittings for the drive train. Grease the drive train with water resistant grease, and then reinstall cover. Replace the spark plugs with new. Add fuel stabilizer to the fuel according to the directions on product. Remove fuel filter, clean or replace. Remove the cooling hose on the head and blow compressed air through the line and the head. A wet/dry shop vac can also remove the water. Reinstall the line. Start and run engine for 15-20 seconds, this will circulate the fuel stabilizer through the fuel lines and carburetors. Let the engine cool for 30 minutes.