PDA

View Full Version : Where to install a CD player on a 86 PS190

jayderwin1
12-16-2004, 12:46 PM
i have a 1986 MasterCraft PS190 and i cannot find a place to install a CD player any suggestion? i attached a couple of pics to give an idea of what i am working with. thank for any help

MarkP
12-16-2004, 12:50 PM
Nice looking 86 jay

You donít have a spot in the dash?? We have a few 86 87 owners that Iím sure can offer some help

ski_king
12-16-2004, 01:04 PM
I have seen a few radios installed in a few different places in this model of boat, but never have seen one I liked.

Vertical in the dash beside the mirror with a cover to keep water out. (ugly)
Mounted under the dash by driver (ugly and a knee knocker)
Mounted in the observer seat base (easily kicked and broken)

If its a cd player only, how about hidden under the dash with a remote?

If you find a good place, let me know and I will add one to mine also.

martini
12-16-2004, 01:42 PM
I have an 84 Mastercraft and I too could not for the life of me figure out were to mount that thing. These boats are very utilitarian in their design and it is very apparent when trying to make upgrades and add ons. I bought a self contained (weather proof) radio housing and installed it on the dash, centline of the boat, behind and offset from the glove box/tray. This required removing the windshield to gain access, but I am happy with the install. I also cut 2 gigantic (6") holes in my dash for the speakers! My boat is currently in storage, I will post pics when I have time to take them! Good luck!

BriEOD
12-16-2004, 03:47 PM
How about directly under the mirror. Cut out a hole and put it in. That's where I have mine in my 87.

sfitzgerald351
12-16-2004, 03:59 PM
See my post towards the bottom of this thread

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=1224&highlight=radio

I have some photos in my profile of what I did as well.

KevinZinser
12-17-2004, 12:21 PM
Here's where I put mine on my old '86 Skier.