PDA

View Full Version : Thanksgiving Dinner...

M-Funf
10-26-2006, 01:02 PM
Yeah, I know it's a month away, but I'm starting to think about Thanksgiving dinner...

I don't usually like to go the traditional route. I do most all of the cooking around our house, especially when it comes to holiday meals. For Thanksgivings past, I've done leg of Lamb, whole Salmon, Goose, Rabbit, and Prime Rib...

Anybody else have other alternatives to plain ol' turkey?

I'm thinking about a few this year:

Turducken (I've never done this one before)

Muscovy duck

Crab (if they don't hold up the season again)

I need some good ideas, TMC'ers!

Maristar210
10-26-2006, 01:10 PM
I have done the Standing rib roast along with a smaller turkey worked out well.

Some others I wanted to do no necessarily for Thanksgiving but you never know

Romano and peppercorn encrusted Mahi-Mahi or maybe

Crab stuffed chicken breasts with a garlic cream sauce

Mmmmmmmm lunch time yet?

Monte
10-26-2006, 01:11 PM
Ribs......... appetizer.....Pork shoulder or boston butt (slow smoked of course)

playtherapy
10-26-2006, 01:18 PM
We went to my son and daughter-in-laws last year (her first time to cook turkey). She had been so concerned about how to cook the turkey and dressing, and called everyone for tips. I assured her it would be fine. All the long, I had a great plan to put in effect. While she was setting the table and busy with other guest arriving, I told her I would check on the turkey. At that time I placed (a fully cooked) cornish hen up in the cavity of the turkey and then stuffed the big bird with her dressing. When it came time to carve, she got a big spoon and started taking the dressing out of the bird. She hit "something" hard. She kept diging and pulled out the cornish hen. I told Christy that she had cooked a pregnant bird. I thought she was gona cry. I wish you could have seen the look on her face! Priceless!

Monte
10-26-2006, 01:21 PM