PDA

View Full Version : I was taken

herringtech
10-18-2006, 04:12 PM
So I went to get my 98 PS 205 X-Star winterized. I bought it last year in August and drained the water and put in my heated garage so I didn't have it winterized.

The previous owner of this boat beat her up. I have been working on restoring it for the past 14 months. I have dropped $3000 on all kinds of stuff. Its lookning great now.

Well, I get the call from the shop that there is water in the oil, and my stomach starts to turn. Turns out not only did the guy I bought this from treat the boat poorly, he probably never winterized it and the heads are cracked as is the exhaust manifold elbows.

I hadn't noticed it as the motor "ran" fine, and there was no visible leaks. We had lots of fun on the boat this summer.

Needless to say, I was taken by this kid and I am just sick about it. I thought I got a good deal on this boat, but it appears I am going to have to invest more into the boat to get it right than its worth.

On the good side after all that work and $$ it will be like a new boat.

Just wanted to vent and get some encouragement/scorn from the community.

Anyone know a good place to pick up a rebuilt engine?

LakePirate
10-18-2006, 04:19 PM
Don't fret about the cracked exhaust risers, you can replace both of those for about $240 bucks. Pretty easy, I have replaced the manifolds and know a cute little trick to getting the bolts out. When you get into cracked heads that is a bit out of my league, but if you want to give it a try I will gladly lend an extra set of hands. Where in Atlanta are you located?

exhaust riser at Skidim (http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=53-2027)

east tx skier
10-18-2006, 04:22 PM
Sorry to hear about it. Hope it's as simple as replacing the risers.

So LakePirate, what's your trick to getting the bolts out?

LakePirate
10-18-2006, 04:26 PM