PDA

View Full Version : Tapping Into Nav Light Power Wire?

Archimedes
10-17-2006, 12:46 AM
I'm trying to tap splice my stereo remote backlight power wire into the nav power wire and I'm trying to make sure I've got the right wire on my 06 X1. I can't get in there to track the wire all the way to the bow light, but I do see a set of black and orange wires heading that way on along the front starboard side in a conduit. I know this isn't much, but anyone know if that's my nav lights? I'm assuming that my speaker wire is routed the other way through the bow, so I'm not sure what else it could be.

I'm assuming I could just hook a meter up to the orange power wire and then toggle the switch to tell, right? Sorry, I'm a total noob when it comes to electrical stuff.

One other dumb question. This power wire calls for a .5 amp inline fuse. Does that sound right? Seems light to me.

TMCNo1
10-17-2006, 12:22 PM
If that is the only set of coated colored wires going forward in conduit that should be the bowlight feed. Just follow it back to the dash as far close and you can and tie into them there. I assume you are wanting to wire to it to have light on the remote after dark?

Tryin-again
10-17-2006, 12:27 PM
I'm trying to tap splice my stereo remote backlight power wire into the nav power wire and I'm trying to make sure I've got the right wire on my 06 X1. I can't get in there to track the wire all the way to the bow light, but I do see a set of black and orange wires heading that way on along the front starboard side in a conduit. I know this isn't much, but anyone know if that's my nav lights? I'm assuming that my speaker wire is routed the other way through the bow, so I'm not sure what else it could be.

I'm assuming I could just hook a meter up to the orange power wire and then toggle the switch to tell, right? Sorry, I'm a total noob when it comes to electrical stuff.