PDA

View Full Version : Home Brewing

sanjuan23
10-03-2006, 06:11 PM
A buddy of mine and I are headed to the local Home Brewing Store. Just wondering if anyone out there has gotten into this fiasco before. Good-Bad-Indifferent? Thanks!

east tx skier
10-03-2006, 06:24 PM
Rule 1. Enjoy the free samples at your LHBS.

I got into it a few years ago. Like anything, you get in for just a little bit of cash, get interested in it, and start upgrading your equipment. Before you know it, you'll be converting deep freezes to kegerators and uttering words like mashtun. It's all good fun though.

M-Funf
10-03-2006, 07:34 PM
I've been brewing for about 10 years. It can be lots of fun as long as you don't get too stressed out about it.

Cleanliness is very important.

Start with a recipe kit from the local supplier.

Start with simple equipment and move up from there if you enjoy it.

Don't stress...have a beer! :toast:

Hoosier Bob
10-03-2006, 07:44 PM
Can you also save some cash? May be an investment around here. Post some pics of the equipment, production and cost per whatever measure you wish. I do not need another hobby but this one may pay for itself!:rolleyes:

M-Funf
10-03-2006, 08:12 PM
Can you also save some cash? May be an investment around here. Post some pics of the equipment, production and cost per whatever measure you wish. I do not need another hobby but this one may pay for itself!:rolleyes:

Your basic equipment kit will run $70 for a basic kit, and around $100 for a deeeelux kit. You'll also need to buy bottles, but they're pretty cheap.

http://www.thebeveragepeople.com/product_images/BN22.jpg

Go to this site to check out prices and other stuff...

The Beverage People (http://www.thebeveragepeople.com/onlinestore.htm)

Ingredient kits for 5 gallons of beer will run $25-35. I think 5 Gallons makes about 50 bottles of beer.