PDA

View Full Version : Powerloading tips?

kpgotgame
09-29-2006, 07:21 AM
I now have a season of inboard boating under my belt and loved every minute of it. It took me about a month to build up the nerve to powerload my boat. It is not my nature to be cautious however this was probably brought on by my buddies first attempt with my old boat. He mis-judged the strength of the current and the back end swung out and hit a pole.
anyway...I am very happy that I gave in and started powerloading. No more constant in and out on the ramp to get my boat perfectly straight on the trailer. I am by no means an expert but the convenience of powerloading is great. I sometimes question how deep to put my trailer in, this is more troublesome when someone else backs the trailer in for me. My worry is that if I have it in to deep that the nose of my boat will jam under the slide on the trailer instead of sliding on top. A buddy suggested marking the appropriate water line on my trailer - Good Idea or any tips??

Ben
09-29-2006, 07:29 AM
Rather than marking it, I think a common method is to look at the trailer tire fenders relative to the waterline. For example, you may want them about an inch under the waterline.

This is assuming you use the same ramp. Different ramp could mean different req'd depth, as it will depend on the slope of the ramp.

kpgotgame
09-29-2006, 08:34 AM
Thanks Ben, that is exactly what I have been doing. I do however use a couple different ramps. So I guess the answer will come from repetition. I am sure that once I do it enough I will learn how to judge how deep it needs to be depending on the pitch of the ramp. Any horror stories in regards to this out there?

#47of100TeamMC
09-29-2006, 08:46 AM
Make sure the bunks are wet when you are powerloading. back the trailer in all the way first to soak the bunks, then pull it out until your fenders are just about to come out of the water. Powerloading with dry bunks will get you some sweet scratches in your hull.