PDA

View Full Version : Ballast Flush Kit

pflcjl
09-21-2006, 10:58 PM
Can someone tell me what a Ballast flush kit is and what it's used for and what is approx cost.....thanks....

skidemon
09-22-2006, 03:33 PM
I have no experience with it to know how it works.:cool:

http://www.overtons.com/modperl/overtons/detail/pdetail2.cgi?r=detail_view&item_num=25608&fcat=

prostar205
09-22-2006, 04:06 PM
I believe the ballast flush kit is a hose that is "T'd" in the ballast system on the KGB system. It allows a person to "winterize" the ballast system in the MC by sucking in anti-freeze (or suitable environmentally friendly stuff) into the ballast hoses, pumps and tanks. I have one on my '02 X30 but I've never used it.

Jerseydave
11-09-2007, 06:15 PM
Just tried to use my "ballast flush kit" to winterize my system, but the pumps would not create any suction to pull-in the antifreeze from a bucket. I guess the system needs to be primed first. So I ended up pulling each hose off the suction side of each pump, installed a 5-foot hose on there and poured anti-freeze into the hose then turned on the pump. Did the same for all 3 pumps. Then removed one hose off the junction block (manifold) and poured a/f into it.

Next year I'll rig a 5 gallon bucket with a 1" fitting at the bottom of it, put it up high on a ladder and let gravity feed the a/f into the flush kit fitting. Should work well that way. Anyone already done this?

TOO-TALL
11-09-2007, 11:19 PM
Just tried to use my "ballast flush kit" to winterize my system, but the pumps would not create any suction to pull-in the antifreeze from a bucket. I guess the system needs to be primed first. So I ended up pulling each hose off the suction side of each pump, installed a 5-foot hose on there and poured anti-freeze into the hose then turned on the pump. Did the same for all 3 pumps. Then removed one hose off the junction block (manifold) and poured a/f into it.