PDA

View Full Version : Can you do a powerturn (bat turn) in a Maristar/X Star??

bfinley
12-01-2004, 11:31 AM
Just wondering as I watch the used boat market?

BriEOD
12-01-2004, 04:13 PM
Is that a requirment for purchase?

bfinley
12-01-2004, 04:15 PM
no, just curious?

BriEOD
12-01-2004, 04:32 PM
I would tend to think it would be more difficult to do it in a v-drive. I thought (I am not an engineer) that the big deal about the capability was having a big heavy motor in the dead center of the boat and that is what enables that "power-turn."

bfinley
12-01-2004, 04:35 PM
I thought that too. But, the Maristar's don't have the tracking fins, so that could make it easier.

AirJunky
12-01-2004, 04:37 PM
We do Around the Boats a lot riding Sky Skis..... an old show ski trick that involves the boat making a fairly sharp turn. It's just short of making a bat turn. The inboard Prostars will do the trick with the driver palming the steering wheel. I have a friend who owns a '96 Maristar & a couple of guys that own later model X-Stars. They will do the trick but it's like turning a truck around in a cul-de-sac..... two hands & it's hard to get that boat around in a hurry.
IMHO the v-drives drive more like an I/O than an inboard.

Mag_Red
12-01-2004, 08:03 PM
So if you have the center fins.........you can't do it??

BriEOD
12-01-2004, 10:11 PM
I would think the center skags would help. The weight of the engine is directly overhead and I would think it would help pivot the boat.

BriEOD
12-01-2004, 10:14 PM
So if you have the center fins.........you can't do it??

All ProStars have the skags and CAN do the power turn. I have never done one in my boat, but have been SOAKED by people doing them in boats while I've been in the back seat. The general idea is get up 25mph "ish" cut the wheel hard one way and pull the throttle to neutral. The boat will take care of the rest.

milkmania
12-02-2004, 04:04 AM