PDA

View Full Version : Residential Voice over IP

6ballsisall
11-22-2004, 07:46 PM
Has anyone here had any experience with Voice over IP Phone systems preferably residential? Up until we moved here we never even had a home phone line and just used our cell phones. Unfortunately our cell phones dont have coverage at our house and had no choice but buying the Home Phone. I am tired of getting sticked by Sprint for local phone service for $90 per month. They are the only provider here and they make sure people remember that. :mad:

AirJunky
11-23-2004, 02:20 AM
I've been using Vonage for about 10 months on a cable broadband connection & am pretty happy with it. I tried using Packet8 but wasn't able to use the line for faxing. So I canceled it & went with Vonage, which does support uncompressed data lines for things like a fax machine, credit card machine, TIVO, etc. My calls are about 90% totally clear, and then maybe one out of every 10 calls I take have an echo in them. If it's a short conversation I just deal with it. A long one, I call them back. It's definitely better than cell quality (I use Verizon). Either way, the price is worth it. I have 2 lines for our small business for voice & data. A Seattle # & a Spokane # so people in both cities can call without any long distance fees. Total cost is $60 per month, no long distance in all of the US or Canada, no time limits, etc. Comes with all the latest features, voicemail, call waiting, caller ID, etc.
Anyway, if you'd like to talk or email more about it, send me a PM. I can refer you to them & it kicks us each a free month if you'd like too.

jimmer2880
11-23-2004, 06:19 AM
Great info Air Junky... We're looking into it now because of your post. I'll let you know if we decide to go with it.