PDA

View Full Version : Prostar upholstery

crozhawk
08-30-2006, 09:34 AM
Aloha, I'm new to TT but I have an 88 PS190 that i bought last year. Over all the boat is in great shape, ...just rebuilt the engine myself due to a cracked block ....whole other %$#@ story. Now its running like a new boat and i'd like to replace the upholstery. The vinyl isn't terrible but its really all thats standing in the way of this boat looking and running like new. Has anyone out there done this ...really wondering about cost vs. benefit and who to go to for best results. I'm up near the DC area. Also ...If anyone has questions about a rebuild, i learned a ton rebuilding the engine ...upgraded the intake and switched to electronic ignition among others ...runs like a scalded dog!! :D

east tx skier
08-30-2006, 11:53 AM
Welcome. The OEM upholstery color matched isn't available any more. Not sure if a dealer could still get the plain white for you. There's more information here (http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showpost.php?p=103135&postcount=4), including contact information of person who can cut skins using OEM vinyl. If you're redoing the entire interior, a local shop can do great things. But if you're only diong a few pieces, the vinyl won't feel the same. Good luck.

shepherd
08-30-2006, 08:19 PM
Funny, I just took my boat (1990 PS 190) in today for an estimate to replace the upholstery and carpet. $2500 + tax + extra$ for any rotten wood that might need replacing. Includes material and labor.

I'm faced with the same dilemma as you. Not sure if it's worth it, and I'm not sure if I can trust this guy to do a good job. Is $2500 price reasonable?

You guys who have done it, what have you paid?

TMCNo1
08-30-2006, 09:30 PM