PDA

View Full Version : Water outboard the stringers?

peterb
08-11-2006, 12:42 AM
I have an 86 mastercraft. If I understand the construction correctly, there are two stringers that run front to back that basically make up the walls for the "bilge" and mounts for the engine. The pump is also mounted in front of the pylon between the stringers.

Is there a possibility for water to get on the outside of the stringers? I can't see away for it to happen, and the outside panels of the flooring don't look removeable but....

I have a transom mount depth guage mounted years ago under the swim platform. It is basically just below the bracket for the platform and slightly inside it. It would place it outboard of the driver side stringer.

I removed the mount to replace it and for whatever reason, used a long screw when it was originally installed. When I removed it, I got a steady stream of water out the hole for about a minute... that was odd.

Then, someone said the other day, "boy you seem to be riding low in the bow". Without much under the deck except for a couple vests, this peaked my interest and I wonder if I had some unexplained water somewhere.

If water gets in an area outside the stringers (if there is such an area), how does it get out?

SKI*MC
08-11-2006, 12:51 AM
thats strange... i always thought that the stringers went from the bilge to the outside... like this..

peterb
08-11-2006, 01:10 AM
Wow, that's a pretty impressive picture... although I would have preferred the boat BEFORE the band saw. But that makes more sense now....hmmm, wonder where the water came from then.

TRBenj
08-13-2006, 05:42 PM