PDA

View Full Version : Learn Snowboarding?

shepherd
08-09-2006, 07:43 PM
My 17 year old niece from Colorado challenged me to come out and snowboard with her this winter. She doesn't think I'd be able to keep up :cool:

I've never tried it before, figure I need to take some lessons. Am I crazy??? Any suggestions on lesson plan, how I can prepare for this event? How about a good snowboard school close to Denver area, like Winter Park? I'm thinking at least a week at snowboard school (similar like ski school when I was learning to ski the course), then I can come back out later in the winter for the big showdown.

Any advice (including "forget it old man") would be appreciated.

Thanks.

twieder
08-09-2006, 07:44 PM
Be prepaired for sudden stops!!!!:toast:

bcampbe7
08-09-2006, 10:01 PM
If she lives in Colorado chances are she will show you up.:)

You will need/want the following:
Knee pads
Wrist guards
Tailbone pad
Helmet
Tylenol

My brother-in-law wore football pants with the tailbone and knee pads in them. You can buy crash pants with all the padding in them also.

Some more words of advice... KEEP YOUR DOWNHILL EDGE UP OFF THE SNOW!

tex
08-09-2006, 10:06 PM
heel, toe, heel, toe

Maristar210
08-09-2006, 11:21 PM
Lean far forward, forget edging. Sail past everyone....

;) Steve

Workin' 4 Toys
08-10-2006, 12:00 AM
Double Black Diamond, hit it first......:rolleyes:

tex
08-10-2006, 12:02 AM
Get wide, wait longer, and cut hard...oh wrong sport...just turn and burn!

kennbarbie
08-10-2006, 01:42 AM
As an instructor, I suggest a few lessons and you will be carving turns and cruising the blues in no time. Its a very fast learning curve. Just watch out for the toe edge as you are falling leaf down the mountain. It will all make sence later to ya.
And remember, why do snowboarders have to use protection?
Becouse they cant pull out.

sassydog
08-10-2006, 07:13 AM