PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Brakes Dragging

QBhater
08-01-2006, 11:36 AM
I have a 2001 tandom axle mastercraft traier with dual disc surge brakes and they are draggin pretty bad. It looks like all 4 brakes are dragging. I pull it with a Dodge 1 ton so I cannot feel any differece will it under tow. I also don't tow it much so it felt like it always does but a little quicker in the gas gauge and notice the brake stink and brake dust all over my rims.

To get home I just spliced the reverse light/brake unlock wire to the common to disengage the brakes all together.

Is there a back off adjustment on the surge master cylinder? Or What do you think is wrong?

Thanks for your replys!!!

Workin' 4 Toys
08-01-2006, 07:23 PM
I have a 2001 tandom axle mastercraft traier with dual disc surge brakes and they are draggin pretty bad. It looks like all 4 brakes are dragging. I pull it with a Dodge 1 ton so I cannot feel any differece will it under tow. I also don't tow it much so it felt like it always does but a little quicker in the gas gauge and notice the brake stink and brake dust all over my rims.

To get home I just spliced the reverse light/brake unlock wire to the common to disengage the brakes all together.

Is there a back off adjustment on the surge master cylinder? Or What do you think is wrong?

Thanks for your replys!!!
I am going to suggest you contact your local dealer, or MYMC on this site.

CalmCraft
08-01-2006, 07:56 PM
Had the same thing on a 2002 tandem trailer. Finally caught fire(almost). Completely replaced all 4 calipers under warranty. Sight glasses buldge under heat stress. Bad deal all around.

Jerseydave
08-10-2006, 09:45 PM
I just replaced all 4 calipers and pads on my 2003 trailer. They were getting so hot the pads cracked and one of them wore right down to the squeel tab.

Now it pulls great! Alot less strain on my tow vehicle (3/4 ton suburban 6.0 liter) and stops much better too. No more brake smell or dust.