PDA

View Full Version : Timing Engine Help

peterb
07-31-2006, 11:58 PM
I have an 86 with a 351. Engine runs a bit rough at idle... can watch tach bounce a bit and hear it.

According to specs, the timing should be 6degrees at 600 RPM. Not being an engine timing expert, I understand what this should look like with a timing light and decided to check it. Set it up, fired it up, hit it with the light, and it's off... about an inch from the pointer in a counter clockwise direction.

New I had to turn the distributor, took the bolt out, dang thing was stuck beyond belief. One can of penetrating lube, a bit of pounding and 5 days of pulling on a wrench with all my might, I finally broke it free. I was just about to put some heat to the base.

Now that I can turn the dist, I started adjusting it. Checking it again with the gun, turned the engine off, turned the dist, started it again, checked it again.... repeat.... etc. Got it finally heading in the right direction, almost right on and the engine runs like crap. Stalls, coughs, backfires. Runs best, where it was.

Suggestions? Am I doing something wrong?

JimN
08-01-2006, 12:16 AM
Did it sit for a long time? The distributor base needs to be in good contact with the block in order to show stable RPM and this is directly related to the way it runs. The points close and ground through the base and if they don't have a good ground path, the magnetic field in the coil won't be intense enough and neither will the spark. When were the cap, rotor, points, condenser, plugs and wires changes?

Did it overheat recently? Has any major work been done on the motor in the past? Have you done a compression test?

Hoff1
08-01-2006, 08:01 AM
Are you sure it's at 6 degrees before (advanced) and not 6 degree after. I placed a small piece of white tape (white sharpie would work greaat) on the spot where my engine needed to be timed at to aide getting in dialed in, really helps when outside in daylight (TMCno1 provided that trick I believe).