PDA

View Full Version : HO Monza vs. System 8

Pages : [1] 2

shepherd
07-31-2006, 08:44 PM
Here it is, the ski test of the HO Monza vs. the System 8, made by an intermediate level skier. I recorded the following comments in a Word document throughout the week-long testing period. I’m going to cut and paste them into several postings on this thread. If you don’t mind, please wait until my “final impression” post is placed before cutting in so that it will flow better. I’ll also email the complete Word file to anyone who PM’s me.

Since I’m not a professional/expert skier, please forgive the lack of such terms as “soft”, “sweet spot”, and whatever other adjectives they might use in Waterski Magazine. The following is just the impressions of a guy who, before this test, was barely able to make a 15 off pass at 34 mph.

As of the date of Day 1, my most recent personal best was 4 or 5 (I don’t really know) at 22 off, 34 mph.

Test Equipment:
2005 68” HO System 8, Wiley boots days 1 and 2
2006 68” HO Monza, Approach boots days 1 and 2
Tow Vehicle: 1993 Mastercraft PS205 days 1 and 2, 1993 Ski Nautique days 3 and 4.
Water conditions: calm with slight ripple each day.
Skier: 195 lbs, right foot forward

When MYMC sent me the Monza, he gave me numbers for the fin setup he wanted me to try. They are:
Length: 6.845
Depth: 2.51
Distance from tail: 0.715
Wing: Upside down 9 degrees
For a true side-by-side comparison, I set both skis to these numbers.

What follows is a day-by-day report of my tests.

shepherd
07-31-2006, 08:46 PM
DAY 1

System 8