PDA

View Full Version : Convert bunk to rollers?

bdecker
07-21-2006, 11:39 AM
I ran into a friend at the pond last night that has replaced half of his Malibu bunks with roller bunks to eliminate the scratches from the carpeting (available from Overtons). Does anyone have experience with these? As my bottom is black, these scratches are pretty noticable, however I don't want to make the situation worse either... Will this make the trailer less secure in terms of the boat moving around over the road? Obviously, I wouldn't unhook it at the top of a steep ramp...

This guy has replaced the middle bunks only, and left carpeting on the sides in the back. Not an MC trailer either, he's got a Response LXI.

butter
07-21-2006, 05:25 PM
I am by no means an expert on this, but personally I would never opt for rollers over bunks. I would much rather have the load of the boat spread out evenly over the larger surface area of the bunks, rather than "'point loaded" on a few rollers. It may be heresay, but I have heard that boats on rollers are more prone to weakening and/or deformation of the hull over time. And of course the most important reason I would not use rollers on a trailer, is I think they're ugly! ;)

Sorry, I can't comment whether they are less "scratchy".

east tx skier
07-21-2006, 05:37 PM
I am by no means an expert on this, but personally I would never opt for rollers over bunks. I would much rather have the load of the boat spread out evenly over the larger surface area of the bunks, rather than "'point loaded" on a few rollers. It may be heresay, but I have heard that boats on rollers are more prone to weakening and/or deformation of the hull over time. And of course the most important reason I would not use rollers on a trailer, is I think they're ugly! ;)

That was my first thought. Trailer manual recommends a continuous surface from the transom forward of 250 sq inches total.

jimmer2880
07-22-2006, 01:30 PM