PDA

View Full Version : Need help diagnosing engine troubles 2003 X2!!! Long Story.

TxsAg99
07-11-2006, 02:28 PM
I have a 2003 Mastercraft X2 with the Predator 350 TBI engine. Ever since I've owned it (about 1.5 years), it has fouled plugs more than I thought a fuel injected engine should. I always attributed a hard starting problem to the plugs being fouled, and always just cleaned them once a month or so and the boat seemed to run better.

The past month or so I've been noticing that sometimes when we stop to change riders, it would take several attempts at cranking the engine to get it to start. It would always turn over, but had difficulty firing.

This past Saturday, it refused to restart at all. We started it on the trailer, took it out and had been idling up to the spot where we usually start riding. We shut it down, I got my gear on, then we tried to restart it it would just crank, but never fire. I pulled the plug wire off of the ignition coil and it would spark to the block while we were cranking. I'm pretty sure the injectors were working too, because we could smell fuel. We had to be towed back to the trailor.

Back home, I rechecked the plugs which seem to be still quite clean from the last cleaning. I hooked up water and attempted to further diagnose the problem. Much to my surprise it fired right up and ran well. So I let it warm up a bit and decided to shut it down and attempt to restart it. Again, it would crank, but not fire. I pulled the flame arrestor off and saw the injectors spray two quick bursts of fuel while a buddy cranked, and then nothing afterwards.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm going to buy a fuel pressure gauge today and make sure I have the pressure listed in the manual. Anything else that it could be?

rektek
07-11-2006, 03:14 PM
get a fuel pressure gauge on that engine, sounds like you have a drop in fuel pressure with the engine off.

could be dripping out of one or more injectors