PDA

View Full Version : Wake Question

aerojt
07-07-2006, 02:53 AM
I just took out the prostar for the first time ever today and ran a little slalom behind it. In the middle of the wake though is a big rooster tail, I was very dissapointed. What is causing that? I was running regular 22 off, the longest possible and I was hitting it. This thing is taller than the outer wakes that you expect to be there. Could the prop be doing that or what? I am clueless here. Thanks!

-JT

bdecker
07-07-2006, 07:44 AM
I skied for many years behind a friends 88, there was definitely more of a bump at 22 than the new hull, but we also found that the wake was very weight sensitive. The solution, run your slalom sets with as empty of a boat as possible. We run the course with just a driver and an observer and no more than 1/4 tank of gas. I've never skied a 93, so I've got no direct experience with that hull, but that trick might help. Once you go to 28, I suspect your wake will disappear. 22 is a "bumpy" line length for many boats.

bigmac
07-07-2006, 08:26 AM
I replaced the stock prop on my MariStar, and that made the rooster tail a little smaller and moved it closer to the boat by about 3 or 4 feet.

BuoyChaser
07-07-2006, 09:20 AM
look into adding a 3-blad CNC machine prop...give the guys at http://www.acmemarine.com and ask for Bill, he'll help you smooth at that prop wash...

Jorski
07-07-2006, 10:19 AM
Though the '93 has a roostertail at 22 off, it is usually really soft. If your ski is on edge, you won't even notice it.

BTW, the wake couldn't get flatter at 28 and 32 off ! Give it a rip !

starman205
07-07-2006, 11:28 AM
I own a 93' 205 prostar and also had the rooster tail at 22 off. Softened it up by going to a 4 blade OJ legend. Have also heard that the acme 3 blade CNC also softens it up. And yes at 28 off and beyond all that is there is smooth water!!!! :dance:

east tx skier
07-07-2006, 12:57 PM