PDA

View Full Version : Looking to improve my slalom turning...

MCX2RYD
07-03-2006, 11:30 PM
Okay so this year I purchased a new boat and well with the new boat came a new ski as well. 05' System 8 with double 06' Approach. I usually ride @ 32-34 MPH @ 28' Off. I ride RFF.

My problem is.... On my left turns the rope is getting waaaaay slacked.. and most times I can hold on.. but god its killing me. I need to find a technique on what to do? I have been skiing for 12 years and have never occured this problem.

Any suggestions would be great!!

Brent
07-04-2006, 06:47 AM
It sounds like you are pulling after the wake. That creates slake as soon as you turn. The Idea is to pull in the wakes & change edge as soon as you cross the second wake & glide until the skis starts to decelerate & then start your turn . The width is created by the pull behind the boat.

6ballsisall
07-04-2006, 07:43 AM
Some pics or video clips would be very helpful.

As Brent said above, are you pulling after the 2nd wake?

Edit: I see you are on a new ski and you didn't have this problem before. Have you tuned the ski i.e: fin & binding placement?

Jorski
07-04-2006, 08:35 AM
Get someone (like a coach/instructor) to help you set up the ski. Although technique is always more important, you can overcomplicate things (and create some bad habits) if the ski is not set up correctly. I would start by trying the front boot forward one hole.

If you are happy wioth your onside turn, leave the back boot where it is for now. Once you have the binding location dialed in, fine tune with fin adjustment.

JohnnyB
07-04-2006, 09:29 AM